Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Embrace your inner geek! Become one with the world of Science & Technology.

Moderators: Moderators, Moderators, Moderators, Moderators

Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby Nicole on Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:48 pm

The little speaker icon used to turn the volume up and down on my taskbar has disappeared.

I right clicked the task bar, went into properties, but the volume icon cannot be ticked. It's faded to show it's an option that can't be clicked.

:help:
"It only ends once. Anything that happens before that... is just progress."

Image

Image
User avatar
Nicole
Emmy Winner
 
Posts: 4312
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Tipperary/Cork, Ireland
Gender: Female


Ads are removed for registered users






Ads are removed for registered users

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby DarkUFO on Tue Feb 10, 2009 1:02 pm

Nicole, try this.

Go into your Control Panel and open Folder Options, under the View tab uncheck "Hide protected operating system files (recommended)", click Apply/OK. Now go into Windows Explorer(Not Internet Explorer) and go to C:\Windows\System32\dllcache folder and open it. Locate the sndvol32.exe file right click it,choose copy. Next go to the C:\Windows\System32 folder and open it. In the right pane right click an empty area and choose Paste. Now you should have your volume icon back.
User avatar
DarkUFO
Administrator
 
Posts: 9037
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: UK
Gender: Male

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby Nicole on Tue Feb 10, 2009 1:26 pm

DarkUFO wrote:go to C:\Windows\System32\dllcache folder and open it.


I'm clicking on a folder called System Volume Info but it says "Access Denied". :(

Edit: I put C:\Windows\System32\dllcache into "run" but it says it doesn't exist. :hmm:
"It only ends once. Anything that happens before that... is just progress."

Image

Image
User avatar
Nicole
Emmy Winner
 
Posts: 4312
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Tipperary/Cork, Ireland
Gender: Female

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby DarkUFO on Tue Feb 10, 2009 1:53 pm

Hmm.. What operating system are you running? XP, vista, 2000?
User avatar
DarkUFO
Administrator
 
Posts: 9037
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: UK
Gender: Male

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby Nicole on Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:02 pm

Vista :)
"It only ends once. Anything that happens before that... is just progress."

Image

Image
User avatar
Nicole
Emmy Winner
 
Posts: 4312
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Tipperary/Cork, Ireland
Gender: Female

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby DarkUFO on Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:10 pm

Hmm , same here. Not sure why you cant see that folder.

So if you put

C:\Windows\System32

Into the Start Search box in the start menu and hit enter nothing happens?
User avatar
DarkUFO
Administrator
 
Posts: 9037
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: UK
Gender: Male

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby Nicole on Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:15 pm

No, not there.
If I type it into the run box though it brings me to a ton of folders and documents... Am I on the right track? O.o
"It only ends once. Anything that happens before that... is just progress."

Image

Image
User avatar
Nicole
Emmy Winner
 
Posts: 4312
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Tipperary/Cork, Ireland
Gender: Female

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby DarkUFO on Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:20 pm

Yep,

You need to find the dllcache folder.

Locate the sndvol32.exe file right click it,choose copy. Next go to the C:\Windows\System32 folder and open it. In the right pane right click an empty area and choose Paste.

This worked for me when mine went missing.
User avatar
DarkUFO
Administrator
 
Posts: 9037
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: UK
Gender: Male

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby Nicole on Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:25 pm

Ok there was no dllcache folder, but the sndvol32.exe thing was there. So I can't copy and paste it into the System 32 folder because it's already there... :bored:
"It only ends once. Anything that happens before that... is just progress."

Image

Image
User avatar
Nicole
Emmy Winner
 
Posts: 4312
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Tipperary/Cork, Ireland
Gender: Female

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby DarkUFO on Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:27 pm

Did you turn off the Hide Protected files setting in my first post?
User avatar
DarkUFO
Administrator
 
Posts: 9037
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: UK
Gender: Male

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby Nicole on Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:29 pm

Yup. Maybe my puter is gone nuts. ¬¬
"It only ends once. Anything that happens before that... is just progress."

Image

Image
User avatar
Nicole
Emmy Winner
 
Posts: 4312
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Tipperary/Cork, Ireland
Gender: Female

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby DarkUFO on Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:31 pm

ah ****.. sorry my bad.

This is vista.. Doh! There is no dllcache in vista. I'll see if Vista keeps a copy of this file somewhere else. I had forgotten that I'd since upgraded to vista after I had this problem
User avatar
DarkUFO
Administrator
 
Posts: 9037
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: UK
Gender: Male

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby Nicole on Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:32 pm

Ok. :)

I have ta head to a two hour lecture (snore) but I'll check back later. Thanks for the help Dark. :thumbup:
"It only ends once. Anything that happens before that... is just progress."

Image

Image
User avatar
Nicole
Emmy Winner
 
Posts: 4312
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Tipperary/Cork, Ireland
Gender: Female

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby DarkUFO on Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:34 pm

1. click start > run and type regedit to open the registry editor.
2. Search for "iconstreams"
3. Delete all keys with the name "iconstreams" and "pasticonstreams" until "iconstreams" cannot be found in the registry
4. Restart Vista
5. if the icon is not there at startup, right click the taskbar, click properties then notification area and enable the icon like normal.

Source: http://antemeridiem.wordpress.com/2007/ ... ows-vista/
User avatar
DarkUFO
Administrator
 
Posts: 9037
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:41 pm
Location: UK
Gender: Male

Re: Can Anyone Help Me On This?

Postby Sandiwich11 on Tue Feb 10, 2009 3:07 pm

My mate had the same problem with his Vista machine a while back after he had been trying to set it up to watch films on his TV. God knows what he did but I ended up having to download the driver again and that fixed it.
Image

Follow me on Twitter: Sandiwich11
User avatar
Sandiwich11
Former Staff Member
 
Posts: 7052
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: The Zero Room
Gender: Female

Next

Return to Science & Technology


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

cron